2013 was an exciting year for the Jimenez family. For our family and friends far away, here is the recap:


Picture

After living in apartments since we got married, we FINALLY moved into a house. What a huge blessing to finally have space for the boys to play outside. I love our house. Nothing fancy but perfect for us.





Zion prepared to be a big brother. He practiced his skills on Mr. Potato Head. In June, Zion turned 3 and we celebrated with a big backyard, blow up waterside, Jake and the Neverland Pirates birthday party. He had a blast and I think everyone who was there would agree that the best part was watching him open his gifts and ask over and over again, "WHAT IS IT??". 




My sister, April and I got to be pregnant at the same time and we were both due on the same day. The only thing that would have made this scenario better would be living in the same state. So thankful that we live in the age of Skype. We ended up having our babies one night after the other. It was an exciting couple of nights for Grandma!
We anxiously waited for sweet baby boy number 2 to arrive. I was very pregnant in the Texas summer so I spent most of my days in the kiddy pool. Our water bill was quite high but I was quite comfortable so it was worth it. My mother in law came for 2 weeks and cooked and cleaned for me. It was the most relaxing 2 weeks of my life! Little did I know, I would need the rest to prepare for the bundle of energy I was about to bring forth into this world. 






Mr. Jimenez and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary. A lot has happened in 4 years. I love him more everyday. 
On July 2nd, Ezekiel Jude raced into this world. The midwife made it 2 minutes before he was born. My doula also almost missed it. He came so fast I only have a couple of pictures of the first moments of his life. But I guess the bright side of everyone almost missing his birth is that when people ask me how it was to have a natural labor with no epidural, I honestly don't remember thinking it was at all painful. All I can remember thinking is "am I seriously pushing a baby out right now? How is this possible? I just went into labor like 20 minutes ago?". Ish says 2 babies is a good number, but I think in 3 years I'll be ready for number 3. We shall see...





In October, my beautiful sister came to visit me. She stayed a whole week and brought her newest little one, Zeke's twin cousin, Josie. I'm not sure why it took me until my 30's to realize that my sister is my best friend, but I'm glad I had her here for a week so I could realize how blessed I am to have her. Now my sister Kendra needs to get here for her turn.
The boys had their first photography session together...there are no words that can do this one justice.



I had always said that "someday" I was going to become a midwife. After Zeke was born, I decided that "someday" will be here before I know it so I better get started. My husband and I began praying for the money and a car that we would need for me to begin this journey. And God answered. I began midwifery correspondence courses, paid in full with the exception of my books, in November. I also began my apprenticeship, working with the amazing midwife who delivered Zeke. I now go and work in the office with Darlene, learning all about conducting prenatal appointments and working with her clients. I also attend births as her assistant and I have had the privilege of attending a few births already as a doula. I have taken some workshops and been busy meeting other doulas and midwives and I feel like I am learning new things daily. I am overwhelmed with what God is doing and with how he has given me a dream and launched me into it before I could blink! 



It feels so good to be doing what I love. Being a mom. Being a wife. Staying home with my babies most days and on other days being honored to be by the side of a laboring mama starting her own journey of motherhood. I never wanted to work while my kids were little, but this is the best of both worlds and I'm so glad I get to be a part of this. 

Happy New Year!! 
Sue-Ellen Kingery
1/12/2014 09:23:48 pm

Very nice story. I am so happy that you are happy.

Reply
the sister
1/12/2014 10:10:11 pm

Amazing! God has blessed you with this amazing life!!! Love you, keep up the awesome work!!! I only wish i could have more babies for you to bring forth into.this world...haha!

Reply



Leave a Reply.